Uncategorized

NaNoWriMo: Beautiful Books

Because I’m preparing for NaNoWriMo (which hopefully I’ll complete this year), I figured I’d focus on my story. While reading her blog, I stumbled across ‘Beautiful Books’, an event hosted by Cait at PaperFury and Sky at Further Up Further In. It’s a three month event that asks you question about your novel and progress in NaNoWriMo (though you don’t have to be participating in NaNoWriMo to take part in Beautiful Books). I was way too late posting this to add my link up on the Beautiful Books page but I wanted to answer it anyway.

How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

Essentially I made up a character for one of my favourite TV shows which gave me an epiphany about an interaction between two characters. So I decided to base an entire novel off an interaction because I’m impulsive like that.

Why are you excited to write this novel?

Because it’s about morality. I have quite a few WIPs that explore the concept, but this one approaches it in a different way. For one, the MC is the villain. And I have this big plot twist planned for the book that I just can’t wait to write.

What is your novel about, and what is the title?

It’s about a villain/monster on the run. With monsters like him hunted by the ‘Matriarch’ ruler, Darius expects his life to end when he is captured. Instead he is saved by a young girl called Arden, who offers to help him. But Darius doesn’t know how to feel about Arden, though grateful for the help, he’s terrified that she knows he’s the person who killed her mother. If she knows, why is she helping him? And if she doesn’t know, what will she do when she finds out?

Current working title is ‘How To Love A Monster’.

Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)

Darius Hunt: Exhausted

Image result for adam rayner gif

Celeste Rose: Controlling

Image result for jaime murray fright night 2

Arden Elswood: Driven

Image result for hayley kiyoko xoxo

Victor Hunt: Worried

Image result for tom ellis gif hunt

Juliet Rose: Rebellious

Image result for crystal reed allison argent

Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!

I think Arden will be the most fun to write from her perspective because she’s a lot more than meets the eye. She’s the kind of person who’s willing to play a long game to get what she wants. However, Darius is likely the most entertaining and I think I can have a lot of fun with his dialogue.

What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?

Darius is looking for his brother, Victor, who has  been missing since Celeste took over. Originally convinced Victor was dead, after finding out his brother might be alive Darius devotes himself to finding him.

Celeste and her Archangels/ Dominions are what stand in his way.

Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!)

An alternate world Victorian inspired London.

Google Image Result for http://www.terminartors.com/files/artworks/5/4/6/54606/Grimshaw_John_Atkinson-Park_Row_Leeds.jpg:

What is the most important relationship your character has?

The most important relationship is probably the one between Darius and Arden. It’s the most awkward too, considering Darius killed Arden’s mother. However they gain a father-daughter relationship at the beginning of the novel that adds an interesting dynamic.

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

There’s no spoiler free way to answer this. They both start to mirror each other in ways they didn’t expect and probably hoped they didn’t.

What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?

The repeated theme is about morality, the difference between good and evil, and whether blood is enough to define a monster. As far as how I want my readers to feel, this isn’t a happy story, there won’t be a happy ending, it’s not that I want them to feel like their soul has been sucked out but if I’ve succeeded in my job as a writer then they will be feeling torn.

BONUS! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.

1. To quote a better author than me (Terry Pratchett) “the first draft is just you telling yourself the story”. I like to think of the first draft as a skeleton, when it comes to redrafting you can finally put the skin on top of the bones.

2. If you’re not sure how to write a scene, its perfectly valid to type ‘character does thing’, skip that bit and come back to it on your redraft.

3. To use words on the front of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, don’t panic. If you have to rewrite a scene, if you can’t find the time and need to skip a few days, if you need to change your novel a week in, don’t panic.

Leave a Reply

